“Kiss my Grits!” “Wait, nevermind, give those back, they are amazing!!”

19 Apr

Grits..with cheese…pair that with Eggs Benedict with creamed spinach, artichokes and bloody mary overflowing with schmutz…picked okra, olives and a huge celery stick..

Oh Savannah…..If I could marry you I would be waiting breathlessly in Johnson square, in a honeysuckle filled breeze, with Savannah Dan as our officiant….

What a great time our girls trip was to Savannah, here are some of the highlights.

*The Squares – the historic part of the city is set up in a grid, with these beautiful mini parks you have to drive around dotting the inside…like a Jersey loop…only so, not….think huge live oaks, park benches and chirping birds…ahhhhh….Im working on trying to convince our homeowners association to add this to our cul de sac….and homes on the square….with the ivy and ironwork…Im thinking its going to be tough to get M to cave to a gas light post in the front but I will try….

*You let us walk around… with alcohol….coming from a state that has strict open container laws, we are aghast when our wonderful tour guide not only told us we can bring a cocktail along, but encouraged us to stop at a bar and get one along the way….( I swear I did not Whoot-Whoot in typical cougar style…..but it was in my head…) and for a group of 8 women away from their husbands and kids for 4 days, this was like going to Disneyworld ….

*You do everything….real, real, slow….I have to say this annoyed the shit out of this “used to having everyone drive up my ass Yankee” on the way out of the airport, (I was Dale Junioring it around some hoop-dee pickups, till I remembered what people told me about Southern Police officers….that they make my mean grade school nun principal look like a chump – but I have to say I started to get used to the long, lounging lunches, just sitting in a park bench in the quiet, (which is scarce in the North, we love our noise…) and not having people constantly trying to push past me/run over me….(they wait for you to cross the street at the crosswalks for God sake!)

Your food…..(see above)…was just a taste of what we had, from cheese plates to martini marinated beef tips to huge ice cream Sundaes at Leopolds…..lets just say its going to take a week and a lot of Kashi to get us all normal, but it was soooo worth it! I saw a group of Southern ladies come in from a Susan G Koman 5K at like 10 AM at a restaurant/bar on River Street…and all order Bloody Mary’s….I teared up, I swear, you people know how to live!!!!

We didn’t get to see it all, so I will be back….maybe I can entince M to go with me with a trip to Fort Pulaski and a day at Tybee with all you can eat Crabs…..

Oh, I only have one two complaints….seriously, what is up with your Ninja mosquitos? Never saw an insect and came home covered in bites where the sun hasn’t seen since August ….sneaky buggers…and you have got to put back the Forest Gump bench for us movie lovers!!….

Thanks Ya’ll, we will be back!!!!!

One Response to ““Kiss my Grits!” “Wait, nevermind, give those back, they are amazing!!””

  1. Jessica April 21, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    Although Savannah is only 5 hours away, I had never gone until this past January. I did love it, much more than I thought I would. And I also had some ice cream at Leopolds! And yeah, we do have some crazy ninja mosquitoes; I say I’m never bit all summer but still get bite marks.

Leave a comment